The Valley News

2016 Safety Beach Country Club Pro-Am

2016 Safety Beach Country Club Pro Am

Results 16/01/15



Professional Winner Ashleigh Hall 63 

Winner A Grade: Rob Law 36

Runners Up A Grade :David Barnes 35 C/B

3rd A Grade:Tony Decorado 35

Winner B Grade :Frank McAleer 35

Runners Up B Grade : Rob Divirgilio 34

3rd B Grade:David Walker 33

Winner C Grade :Martin Pullen 39

Runners Up C Grade:Charli Bandi 33

3rd C Grade:Tyrrell McGeever 32


Winning Corporate Cup Team Rosebud Mowers


Winner Schweppes Junior: Charlie Robbins 35

Runners Up: Matt Edwards 33


NTP 6th: David Walker

NTP 9th: John Payne

NTP 12th: Graeme Lanigan

NTP 13th: Matthew Herrick

NTP 17th: Charlie Barvi


A super day for the Safety Beach Golf Club with about 190 golfers turning up to play for honours in the club’s annual Pro-Am event. Just from a spectator’s point of view it was great to see the numbers lined up watching top players hitting off from the Number 1 tee as well as the 12th where the championship tees were reactivated as per the last few years. The big hitters were well and truly challenged. I have no access to the names of those who performed best, but it was great to see Martin Pullen continuing his return to golf at this club with a final result which saw him finish high up among those who performed well. A nice new golf bag was the end result. We had a raffle which engendered plenty of interest as always, but unfortunately five prizes were all we could award. Because of the nature of this tournament meat trays were not on the prize list because possible winners lived much too far away, so it became a much more practical list to choose from. Brendan Anderson’s name came out first, and he was given the choice of a Peninsula Club $50 meal/beverage voucher or a one litre bottle of Jamesons Irish Whisky. He took the drink, so two Peninsula Club vouchers ended up with Paddy McElhinney and Steve Lay, while Crown Lager six-packs were won by Matt Herrick and guest Dave Smith. The club owes its Pro Shane Johnson a massive thank-you for his getting the whole shebang together, plus just as much recognition to the lady volunteers and bar staff who got the food organised and performed so admirably under enormous pressure. We are indeed a very lucky club to have that sort of co-operation given so



Related News

2nd round Alan Coustley Trophy 19th March 2022 Winner of the Alan Coustley Trophy is Teresa Lincoln with two round score of 71 on countback from Jarrod Henham and Dale Pitt. Well done Teresa. Hole results  10 players Winner   …